Saxophone Squeaking

By: Matthew Albert

Ever wondered why your saxophone is squeaking? Well, I have a little article that might help solve the problem. There are various reasons why you might squeak. However, first I better tell you about squeaking. If you don’t know many new players make a high pitched squeak noise. This is due to them doing something wrong like tonguing too hard. I have been playing for about 3 years, but would consider myself quite informed about the saxophone. I can’t say I am amazing, but I can say I can sight-read and know all my scales. Also, I love to play lyrical etudes and can play over 25 of them superbly. One of the main problems with new players is that they have bad mouth posture. They usually are too tight due to being nervous. If you are too tight then you will run into some serious problems. For example, you might stop the air flow between the reed. If you stop the air flow the reed will not be able to vibrate, therefor not giving you a sound. Another reason people squeak is because they tongue too hard. It takes lots of practice to tongue just right. Sometimes it will take about a month or so just to be able to stop squeaking when tonguing.

Now I have some ways to practice, so you get better and don’t squeak. First off, you should do tongue exercises. You need to try to sound as graceful and smooth as possible. Try saying ta-ta-ta over and over. Then try blowing into your instrument with your tongue doing the same movements when you say ta-ta-ta. If you are too tight, then try to relax. Take big breaths before you play and loosen up. Also you might need to bite up farther on your mouth piece or less. If you do this then in a few weeks you should have no problem.

10 Responses

  1. Thanks so much! This article helped me with playing sax. By the way, I find that sometimes the saxophone squeaks due too being positioned in your lap oddly.

  2. omg i love this advice ima practice it alot now ty

  3. I think another thing that makes beginners squeak is pressing a button by accident – I keep doing it ^.^

    thanks for the advice, it was helpful 😀

  4. Ohmygoshh. Thanks SO much! My sax was squeaking and I have my chairplacements tomorrow! This helped alot!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Thanks for the advice!!! I have a big solo contest coming up and i was squeaking a little…not a ton, but it was still noticeable. I tried moving my mouth positions around and i finally think i found a comfortable position. i may have been letting a little too much air out. Dont get down if you are having problems guys!!! Just keep trying!!!!!! Thanks again for the advice!!!! 🙂

  6. I keep squeaking on ONLY one note, and thats D. It just started like 3 weeks ago, and ive been playing sax for more than half a year. i bought new reeds, and it still wont stop. what do i do?

  7. ty SOOOO much! I’ve been in Jazz Bands, All-County Band, and still couldn’t figure out why I squeaked on occasion, but I’m glad I saw this!!!

  8. great advice 🙂

  9. good advice 🙂

  10. Thank you!!(:

Leave a Reply

